skip to contents


Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Immigration Bureau

Application for Visas

Visitors entering the Republic of Korea (ROK) must hold a valid passport and visa to enter the country. Nationals of visa waiver or visa-free countries may enter the country without a visa for tourism purposes only. For any other purposes, such as employment or education, proper visas are required. Nationals of non-visa waiver countries must apply for visas at the nearest Korean embassy or consulate prior to entering the ROK.

# Countries under visa exemption agreement

Total Passport Type Countries
103countries (up to 90 days unless noticed otherwise) Diplomatic & Official (35 countries) Algeria, Argentina, Azerbaijan (30 days), Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Cambodia (60 days), China (30 days),Cyprus, Croatia,Ecuador (Diplomatic: as needed for work performance, Official: 3 months), Egypt, Gabon, India, Iran (3 months), Japan (3 months), Kuwait, Laos, Mongolia, Pakistan (3 months), Paraguay, the Philippines (Unlimited), Ukraine, Uruguay, Vietnam, Moldova(90 days within 180 days), Tajikistan, Georgia,Myanmar, Bolivia, Kyrgyz (30 days), Armenia, Angola (30 days), Oman
Diplomatic & Official & Ordinary(66 countries) Asia(4 countries) Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand
America(25 countries) Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Commonwealth of Dominica, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela (Diplomatic/Official: 30 days, Ordinary: 90 days), Uruguay
Europe (32 countries) [Schengen countries (except for Slovenia out of the 26 Schengen countries)], Austria (Diplomatic/Official: 180 days), Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal (60days), Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland
※ Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden (90 days within 180 days)
[Non-Schengen countries] Bulgaria, Ireland, Romania, Turkey, UK, Kazakhstan
※ Russia (60 days in a row, not exceeding 90 days within 180 days)
Africa & Middle East (5 countries) Israel, Liberia, Morocco, Tunisia(30 days), Lesotho(60 days)

Italy : Despite visa exemption for a stay of up to 60 days under agreement, the reciprocity principle allows a stay of up to 90 days from June 15, 2003
Japan : Visa exemption for a stay of up to 90 days for ordinary-passport holders based on exchange of note verbal.
     (Visa exemption agreement concluded for diplomatic and official-passport holders)

# Nationals of countries or regions allowed for visa-free entry (up to 30 days unless noticed otherwise)

Continents Countries or Regions
Asia or regions(6 countries) Brunei (30 days), Hong Kong (90 days), Indonesia (diplomatic and official, 30 days),
Japan (90 days), Macau (90 days), Taiwan (90 days)
America(7 countries) Argentina (30 days), Canada (6 months), Ecuador (90days), Guyana (30 days),
Honduras (30 days), Paraguay (30 days), United States (90 days)
Europe(11countries) Albania (30 days), Andora (30 days), Bosnia-Herzegovina (30 days), Croatia (90 days),
Cyprus (30 days), Monaco (30 days), Montenegro (30 days), San Marino (30 days),
Serbia (90 days), Slovenia (90 days), Vatican (30 days)
Oceania or regions(13 countries) Australia (90 days), Fiji (30 days), Guam (30 days), Kiribati (30 days),
Marshall Islands (30 days), Micronesia (30 days), Nauru (30 days), New Caledonia (30 days),
Palau (30 days), Samoa (30 days), Solomon Islands (30 days), Tonga (30 days), Tuvalu (30 days)
Middle East and Africa(12 countries) Bahrain (30 days), Egypt (30 days), Kuwait (30 days),
Lebanon (diplomatic and official 30 days), Mauritius (30 days), Oman (30 days),
Qatar (30 days), Saudi Arabia (30 days), Seychelles (30 days), South Africa (30 days),
Swaziland (30 days), United Arab Emirates (30 days)

Visa application should be made at Korean embassies or consulates abroad
Visa applicants are required to submit passport, application forms, a recent passport-size color photograph,
     and other relevant documents as determined by their status of stay.
Visa fees are as follows: (Visa fees below are basic rates, so first contact the Korean embassy or consulate before applying for a visa)

A. Single entry visa for a stay of no more than 90 days : US$40
B. Single entry visa for a stay of more than 90 days : US$60
C. Multiple entry vis a: US$90 Double entry visa : US$70
D. Exemption of visa fees (As listed below)

Countries or Regions Visa Type
Italy, Japan, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Ukraine All visas (Regardless of period of stay)
※ For Ukrainians, travel documents for children included
Sweden Visas for a stay of no more than 90 days
Barbados, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Liberia, Peru Visas for a stay of 91 days or more
Benin, Brazil, Cyprus, Guatemala, Paraguay, Romania,
Uruguay, Mexico, Algeria
Visas issued to holders of diplomatic and official passports
for a stay of 91 days or more
Mongolia Visas issued to holders of ordinary passports
for a stay of no more than 90 days
Venezuela Visas issued to holders of diplomatic and official passports
for a stay of 31 days or more
Philippines Visas for a stay of no more than 59 days
(temporary commercial or tourism purposes)
Australia C-3-4 Visas for a stay of no more than 90 days
(temporary commercial or tourism purposes)
Germany D-2, D-4, D-7, D-8, D-9, E-7